IPL 2021 in CPL 2021: IPL flavor increases in CPL this time, KKR, RR and Punjab Kings IPL team owners target top spot

IPL 2021 Phase 2: Franchises worried over participation of West Indies cricketers, feel ‘too late to Rejig CPL 2021 schedule’

IPL 2021 in CPL 2021: The Caribbean Premier League (CPL T20) returns to action later this month and will serve as a precursor to the second phase of the IPL 2021 in the St Kitts and Nevis. While some international stars will be hoping to get to their best shape possible before the mega event with an eye on the T20 World Cup which kicks off in October. The CPL 2021 has also seen interest from India, with Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab following the Kolkata Knight Riders in purchasing teams from the competition.

IPL 2021 in CPL 2021: IPL flavor increases in CPL this time, KKR, RR and Punjab Kings IPL team owners target top spot

IPL 2021 in CPL 2021: Here, insidesport.co decodes how the Barbados Royals, the St Lucia Kings and the Trinbago Knight Riders stack up ahead of the CPL 2021.

Also Read: CPL 2021: IPL 2021 costliest player Chris Morris pulls out of CPL along with Delhi Capitals pacer Anrich Nortje

Barbados Royals – owned by Rajasthan Royals

Two-time champions Barbados will assume a new identity this season following their takeover by the Rajasthan Royals. The Barbados Royals (BR) finished second from bottom last season, but still, have the quality to make a challenge for the CPL 2021 title this time around. Led by Jason Holder, the franchise boasts of T20 stalwarts like Glenn Phillips, Mohammad Amir, Johnson Charles and Thisara Perera among their ranks. A playoff finish will be the minimum requirement for the side when they begin their campaign next week.

Squad: Jason Holder (C), Justin Greaves, Nyeem Young, Joshua Bishop, Mohammad Amir, Thisara Perera, Azam Khan, Oshane Thomas, Ashley Nurse, Smit Patel, Glenn Phillips, Johnson Charles, Shai Hope, Kyle Mayers, Hayden Walsh Jr., Raymon Reifer

St Lucia Kings- owned by Punjab Kings

Like Barbados Royals, the St Lucia Kings are heading into the season with a new name, new ownership and will be aiming for a new dawn when they take the field. After a string of disappointing seasons since its inception, the Kings reached the final last season where they were beaten by TKR. Led by ex-South African captain Faf du Plessis, the franchise has a solid core with the likes of Obed McCoy, Rakheem Cornwall, Roston Chase, Samit Patel and Wahab Riaz in the mix.

Squad: Faf du Plessis (C), Rahkeem Cornwall, Andre Fletcher, Kesrick Williams, Obed McCoy, Mark Deyal, Roston Chase, Javelle Glen, Samit Patel, Keemo Paul, Wahab Riaz, Usman Qadir, Keron Cottoy, Jeavor Royal, Kadeem Alleyne, Alzarri Joseph

Also Read: CPL 2021: From Imran Tahir to Dwayne Bravo, 5 players to watch out for in Caribbean Premier League

Trinbago Knight Riders – owned by Kolkata Knight Riders

One of the most successful and dominant teams in the tournament’s history, the Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR) will again be smelling blood when the tournament kicks off next week. Led by Kieron Pollard, TKR have an abundance of power-hitting and all-round talent, making it perhaps the best on-paper team in the competition. The defending champions will hope to replicate their success and with the likes of Sunil Narine, Isuru Udana, Lendl Simmons on their roster, they will fancy their chances.

Squad: Kieron Pollard (C), Lendl Simmons, Khary Pierre, Anderson Phillip, Tion Webster Akeal Hosein, Jayden Seales, Ali Khan, Ravi Rampaul, Isuru Udana, Leonardo Julien, Yasir Shah, Denesh Ramdin, Sunil Narine, Colin Munro, Darren Bravo

IPL 2021 in CPL 2021: IPL flavor increases in CPL this time, KKR, RR and Punjab Kings IPL team owners target top spot