IPL 2021: KKR’s poor run under Eoin Morgan’s captaincy continues, lose 4th consecutive match

IPL 2021 struck by COVID: England stars given choice to carry on or face 10 days in quarantine
IPL 2021 struck by COVID: England stars given choice to carry on or face 10 days in quarantine

IPL 2021: KKR’s poor run under Eoin Morgan’s captaincy continues, lose 4th consecutive match- Kolkata Knight Riders on Saturday registered their fourth straight loss in IPL 2021. On Saturday, they were dominated by Sanju Samson’s Rajasthan Royals, losing the match by 6 wickets. For captain Eoin Morgan, the recent record looks even worse. It was KKR’s eighth loss in 12 matches under Morgan’s captaincy. KKR have now dropped to the bottom of the IPL points table with just one win in the last 5 matches.

KKR in IPL 2021

vs SRH: won by 10 runs

vs MI: Lost by 10 runs

vs RCB: Lost by 38 runs

vs CSK: Lost by 18 runs

vs RR: Lost by 6 wickets

Also Read: RR vs KKR: Eoin Morgan’s nightmare in IPL 2021 continues, departs for duck, 45 runs in 5 innings

IPL 2021- Eoin Morgan’s as KKR captain

– Morgan has the worst win-loss record as a captain in IPL.

– Still not able to find the right playing XI combination.

In IPL 2021 so far, Morgan has managed just a single victory that came in their opening match against Sunrisers Hyderabad.

IPL 2021 – Current 8 IPL Captains and their Captaincy Records

Player Span Mat Won Lost Tied %
MS Dhoni (CSK, RPS) 2008-2021 192 113 78 0 59.16
V Kohli (RCB) 2011-2021 129 59 63 3 48.4
RG Sharma (MI) 2013-2021 121 70 47 4 59.5
DA Warner (DD, SRH) 2013-2021 67 35 31 1 52.98
Rishabh Pant (DC) 2021-2021 4 3 1 0 75
KL Rahul (PBKS) 2020-2021 19 7 10 2 42.1
EJG Morgan (KKR) 2020-2021 12 4 7 1 29.16
SV Samson (RR) 2021-2021 5 2 3 0 40


IPL 2021: Strange decisions by Eoin Morgan this season

1. Shakib Al Hasan over Sunil Narine in first 3 matches

Roped in to strengthen the middle-order, Morgan and the KKR team backed Shakib Al Hasan in the first three matches despite consecutive failures with the bat and ball. The latter managed just 38 runs in the first three matches which included single digits against Mumbai Indians and Sunrisers Hyderabad. In the bowling department, he could only pick 2 wickets at an economy rate of 8.1.

While Narine has strengthened KKR’s spin bowling with tight and disciplined bowling, he hasn’t been able to guide the side to victory. After returning with 1/34 against CSK, Narine’s variations did trouble RR batsmen but they calmly faced his bowling without giving wickets away.

Meanwhile, Lockie Ferguson is absent from the lineup despite consecutive failures to scalp wickets during the powerplay overs. Last Ferguson had delivered in his opening match for KKR. He went on to take 6 wickets in 5 matches at an economy rate of 8.5.

2. Andre Russell batting out of place

One of the attacking batsmen in world cricket, Andre Russell is not promoted by KKR at No.5 in a number of matches. It cost them multiple matches (vs RCB and MI). In both instances, Russell was sent at No.7. Thus, he couldn’t face enough deliveries to win the match for Kolkata Knight Riders. Even against RR, he failed to deliver right from the word go.

3. Varun Chakaravarthy 

In the match against RCB, Varun Chakravarthy was dropped from the attack despite bagging a couple of wickets, including Virat Kohli during the powerplay. RCB were under pressure but Maxwell and AB de Villiers took their time to go all guns blazing as Chakravarthy was nowhere to be seen in the next 5 overs.

IPL 2021: Morgan needs to pull up his socks

However, what has hurt KKR the most is Morgan’s poor form as the batsman. In five matches so far, he has scored 45 with his highest score being 29. In the other four innings, he has returned for single digits. With his not providing KKR the solidity at No 4, KKR have struggled to put up a fight.

If KKR wish to return to winning ways and reach the playoffs, it is important for their skipper to find lost form. Former KKR skipper Gautam Gambhir had during one of KKR’s game said: “Morgan needs to start leading from the front to turn KKR into a formidable force”. Morgan will have to take inspiration from the likes of Rohit Sharma, Gambhir and MS Dhoni, who play key roles in MI, KKR and CSK’s title-winning campaigns.