IPL 2021 Orange Cap: 5 facts you did not know about; Check out

IPL 2021 Orange Cap, IPL Orange Cap, IPL 2021
IPL 2021 Orang Cap facts

IPL 2021 Orange Cap: The concept of ‘Orange Cap’ was introduced by the Indian Premier League (IPL) a week after the inception of the extravagant T20 league. As per the guidelines, the player with the most number runs in a season is adjudged the winner of this coveted cap. So far, there have been nine IPL Orange Cap winner across 13 editions. With IPL 14, just 21 days away, InsideSport brings you some interesting facts about IPL Orange Cap.

IPL 2021 Orange Cap: First player to wear the Orange Cap

Then Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) batsman and now head coach, Brendon McCullum was the first player to wear the cap. The former New Zealand batsman on the opening match of the inaugural season scored a breathtaking knock of 158 as an opener to top the run chart. However, at the end of the season, it was Australia’s Shaun Marsh who bagged the IPL Orange Cap for scoring 616 runs in 11 games.

IPL 2021 Orange Cap: Only one player has won it thrice
If there is anyone who rules the overall Orange Cap rankings, it is Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) captain David Warner. The Australian batsman is the one IPL player to win the Orange cap thrice. He first won it in 2015, scoring 562 runs in 14 games. In 2017, he again ended up at the top of the most-runs list with 641 runs. The 34-year-old then again bagged it in 2019, after he scored 692 runs.
IPL 2021 Orange Cap: Virat Kohli has most runs as Orange Cap winner
The Indian skipper is the most successful batsman in IPL with multiple records to his. However, one that stands out the most is his performance in the 2016 IPL season. The Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) skipper scored nearly 1000 runs in IPL 8. In 16 matches, he scored 973 runs at an average and strike rate of 81.08 and 152.03 respectively.
IPL 2021 Orange Cap: Chris Gayle only player to retain the cap
It wouldn’t be wrong to call Chris Gayle Mr. IPL for his contribution and revolutionary batting approach in T20 cricket. The Universe Boss is the only batsman to ever retain the Orange Cap in IPL history. He was the highest run-getter in two consecutive IPL editions. In 2011, he scored 608 runs in 12 matches, while in 2012, he amassed 733 in 15 matches.
IPL 2021 Orange Cap: RCB has most no.of Orange Cap winners
Although RCB is yet to win its maiden IPL title, the three-times IPL finalists have had most no.of Orange Cap winners. While Virat Kohli has won it once, Gayle has won it twice.