IPL 2021 Purple Cap: RCB’s Harshal Patel tops leaderboard, check out top 10 leading wicket-takers of the season

IPL 2021 Purple Cap: RCB’s Harshal Patel tops the leaderboard
IPL 2021 Purple Cap: RCB’s Harshal Patel tops the leaderboard

IPL 2021 Purple Cap: RCB’s Harshal Patel tops the leaderboard, check out the top 10 leading wicket-takers of the season: There are a few templates that have barely changed in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL) so far and one of those is RCB’s death bowling woes. The Virat Kohli-led side is infamous for giving away way too many runs at the end which has been one of the major causes for most of their defeats. However, in IPL 2021, RCB has successfully managed to break that template as Harshal Patel from Royal Challengers Bangalore is the Purple Cap holder in the IPL 2021 edition.

Royal Challengers Banglore has been in terrific form for the last two seasons. They qualified for the playoffs after 4 years in the 2020 edition whereas kicked off their 2021 campaign with four straight wins. They are currently sitting third in the league standings and Harshal Patel is one of the main reasons behind that progress. The RCB pacer has picked up 17 wickets in just 7 innings and is sitting atop the list of the leading wicket-takers.

Delhi Captial’s Avesh khan and Rajasthan Royal’s Chris Morris are at second and third positions with 14 scalps each. While the IPL 2021 phase 2 moves to UAE, it will be interesting to watch who manages to finish as the purple cap holder on the final day.

Moreover, Dwayne Bravo’s 32 wickets in the 2013 season are the most by a bowler in a single IPL season. Can the Haryana-born pacer Harshal Patel break Bravo’s record? Till then, let’s have a look at the rules for the IPL Purple Cap and the list of the top ten leading wicket-takers in the IPL 2021 phase 1.

Also read IPL 2021: Mumbai Indians duo- Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya buy Rs 30 crores swanky home in Bandra suburbs, become neighbors to Tiger Shroff & Disha Patani

Rules for IPL Purple Cap:

  1. The Purple Cap is offered to the leading wicket-taker of the season.
  2. The bowler with the most wickets in the tournament during the season would wear the Purple Cap while in the field.
  3. In case of a tie, the Purple Cap is given to the bowler with a superior economy rate.


IPL 2021 Purple Cap List: RCB’s Harshal Patel on top –

Pos Player Team Matches Wickets
1 Harshal Patel RCB 7 17
2 Avesh Khan DC 8 14
3 Chris Morris RR 7 14
4 Rahul Chahar MI 7 11
5 Rashid Khan SRH 7 10
6 Sam Curran CSK 7 9
7 Pat Cummins KKR 7 9
8 Kyle Jamieson RCB 7 9
9 Deepak Chahar CSK 7 8
10 Mohammed Shami PBKS 8 8


For more sports and IPL updates, click here