IPL Auction 2021: Three players that KKR can target in IPL 2021 mini-auction

Three players that KKR can target in IPL 2021 mini-auction: Given that KKR struggled with their opening batting combination for the majority of the last season, they will target an opener in IPL 2021 auction whom they can pair with Shubman Gill. Also, KKR will aim to bolster their all-rounder department and have a backup for inconsistent Andre Russell, who was a big flop in IPL 2020.

Here’s Kolkata Knight Riders’ strategy for IPL 2021 auction and the three players that they can buy in the mini-auction:

Purse: Eoin Morgaan-led KKR will enter the IPL 2021 auction with Rs 10.75 crore in their kitty.

Retained players: Eoin Morgan, Dinesh Karthik, Nitish Rana, Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Rahul Tripathi, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Kuldeep Yadav, Lockie Ferguson, Pat Cummins, Prasidh Krishna, Sandeep Warrier, Shivam Mavi, Varun Chakaravarthy, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Tim Seifert.

Released players: Tom Banton, Chris Green, Nikhil Naik, Siddharth M and Siddhesh Lad
Slots: Kolkata Knight Riders have eight slots available, including two overseas slots.

Three players that KKR can buy in IPL 2021 auction:

Dawid Malan: KKR can buy Dawid Malan in their lineup to sort their opener problem. The England batsman, who is currently leading the ICC T20I rankings chart, has scored 855 runs in 19 T20I matches at an average of 53.43. Malan bats at a strike rate of 149+ and has a hundred to his name.

Shakib Al Hasan: All-rounder Shakib can be a perfect fit at KKR given his flexibility to move up and down the middle order. Additionally, he can even bowl a full quota of four overs. With Shakib in the lineup, KKR have a trustworthy player who can guide them to a decent finish.

Mohammed Azharuddeen: The 26-year-old, who shot to fame with a sensational century against Mumbai during Syed Mushtaq Ali T20, can be a solution to KKR’s opener problem. Notably, his 137 against Mumbai was the highest T20 score by an Indian in a chase. Azharuddeen scored 214 runs in five innings at a superb strike-rate of 194.54. The Kerala batsman, who made his first-class debut back in 2015, has played 24 T20s so far and has scored 451 runs at a strike-rate of 142.27.