IPL franchisees fail to reach consensus on player retention

The Indian Premier League franchisees have failed to reach a consensus on player retention before the IPL Season 11.

The Indian Premier League governing council had proposed the retention of three players with a maximum of two Indians in next year’s full auction. The team owners are opposed to such a move, making retentions of players a tricky affair. Kings XI Punjab and Rajasthan Royals are reported to have issues with the proposed rotation formula.

It will be interesting to see how these issues are sorted out by the Board of Control for Cricket in India.

Ahead of the crucial November 21 meeting to decide on the roadmap for the coming IPL season, six teams, barring Kings XI Punjab and Rajasthan Royals, are in favour of retaining four to five players.

“The retention policy would be there in all possibility. This is what the majority of franchises want. The only issue we need to thrash out is the number of players who can be retained. We need to work out whether it would be three or five players. For this very purpose, we have called the meeting of franchise owners on November 21 in Mumbai,” ToI has quoted a top BCCI official as saying.

The teams who were in favour of no retention before the auction, are now seeking to ensure that there is no cap on the number of Indian cricketers in the retention list. For example, defending champions Mumbai Indians will be looking to retain top players like Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah. However, some teams are also looking to have the option of matching cards if they are not retaining players. Some teams are looking to buy a similar set of cricketers at lower prices. On the other hand, some top Indian cricketers are expecting their salaries to go upto INR 25 Crores per annum.
The IPL GC has proposed a player acquisition purse of INR 75 Crore. But the teams want the purse to be increased to at least INR 80 Crore.

CSK and Royals, who are targeting to buy players from the Pune and Rajkot teams which have run out their two-year IPL tenures, could only be allowed to pick players from the 2015 players’ draft, which had Dhoni and Suresh Raina. But three players from RR and CSK – Sanju Samson, Karun Nair and Chris Morris – are now part of Daredevils.