IPL Player Retention: Delhi Daredevils retain 14 players, Gambhir out

IPL Player Retention 2019,IPL 2019 Player Auction,Delhi Daredevils Shikhar Dhawan,Indian Premier League Retention live,IPL Season 12 Gautam Gambhir

Gautam Gambhir, following a disappointing season that has seen the seasoned left-hander relinquish captaincy midway through the last season, has been left out of Delhi Devils’ scheme of things.

The Delhi Daredevils management announced the retention of the services of 14 players for the squad for their upcoming IPL 2019 season, Gambhir is among the released players.

The veteran left-handers elimination was on the cards ever since Delhi has acquired Shikhar Dhawan in exchange for three players.

The retained players include Mumbai born 23-year old batsman and Delhi Daredevils’ captain Shreyas Iyer, left-handed wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant, veteran leg spinner Amit Mishra and right-handed batting prodigy Prithvi Shaw, who recently debuted for India in the test series against the West Indies, Delhi Daredevils have confirmed in a Press Release.

The final retained squad consists of retained Indian players Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Amit Mishra, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Rahul Tewatia, Jayant Yadav and Manjot Kalra. The overseas contingent includes Colin Munro, Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, Sandeep Lamichhane and Trent Boult.

Post this announcement; the players released by the team are Gautam Gambhir, Jason Roy, Junior Dala, Liam Plunkett, Mohammed Shami, Sayan Ghosh, Daniel Christian, Glenn Maxwell, Gurkeerat Singh Mann and Naman Ojha.

The Delhi franchise also traded in Indian International opener Shikhar Dhawan from Sunrisers Hyderabad for the upcoming season.

Also Read: IPL Player Retention: Mumbai Indians release 10, retain 18, buy de kock

IPL Retention Live Update: Injured Saha fails to find favour with SRH; tainted Warner…