Kabaddi Masters Dubai: Squads named for kabaddi’s biggest international spectacle

Kabaddi Masters Dubai: Squads named for kabaddi’s biggest international spectacle - InsideSport

Kabaddi Masters Dubai will go down the history of the sports as the biggest international spectacle of the sport with representation from Asia, Africa and South America. With four days to go, all the six teams have named their squads for the inaugural Kabaddi Masters championships.

The six-nation kabaddi tournament is an initiative of International Kabaddi Federation, with Star India as its broadcast partner along with the support from the support Dubai Sports Council. The 9-day action-packed event showcasing the best of kabaddi talents and action will begin from June 22.

The tournament will feature world champions India along with other Asian giants Iran, Republic of Korea, and Pakistan. The two non-Asian nations joining in this nine-day tournament are Argentina and Kenya.

India is pitted in Group A with rookie Kenya and fierce-neighbours Pakistan, while group B features Iran, Republic of Korea, and Argentina. The top two teams from each group will then battle it out in the semi-finals after the double round-robin matches within the group.

India boasts of the strongest attack line, which consists of top raiders and Pro Kabaddi League stalwarts Deepak Niwas Hooda, Pardeep Narwal, Monu Goyat, and Rahul Chaudhari.

Surprisingly, the Iranian players Fazel Atrachali and Abozar Mighani who are among the highest paid foreigners in the Vivo Pro Kabaddi league have been omitted from their national squad. Fazel was picked up by U Mumba for ₹1 crore while his compatriot Abozar went to Telugu Titans for ₹76 lakhs.

India: Girish Maruti Ernak, Surender Nada, Sandeep, Mohit Chhillar, Raju Lal Choudhary,Surjeet (Po), Deepak, Pardeep Narwal, Rahul Chaudhari, Rishank Krishna Devadiga, Monu Goyat, Rohit Kumar, Ajay Thakur, Manjeet Chhillar

Republic of Korea: Lee Dong Geon, Eom Tae Deok, Lee Jae Min, Lee Jang Kun, Hong Dong Ju, Kim Dong Gyu, Park Chan Sik, Jo Jae Pil, Kim Seong Ryeol, Park Hyun Il,Kim Gyung Tae, Ko Young Chang

Pakistan: Nasir Ali, Waqar Ali, Mudassar Ali, Qaisir Abbas, Kashif Razzaq, Muhammad Nadeem, Sajjad Shaukat, Muhammad Imran, Muhammad Safian, Abid Hussain, Akhlaq Hussain, Wasim Sajjad, Muhammad Nisar, Muzammal Hussain.

Iran: Hadi Tajik, Mohammad Amin Nosrati, Amirhossein Mohammad Maleki, Mohammad Esmaeil Nabibakhsh, Mohammad Ghorbani, Mohammad Esmaeil Maghsoudlou Mahalli, Mohammad Kazem Naseri, Mohammadreza Shadloui Chianeh, Emad Sedaghatnia, Afshin Jafari, Mohammad Taghi Paein Mahali,Mohammad Malak,Saeid Ghaffari, Hamid Mirzaei Nader

Argentina: Federico Gramajo, Rafael Acevedo, Gabriel Sacchi, Mariano Pascual, Jorge Barraza, Sebastian Desocio, Roman Cesaro, Nahuel Lopez, Javier Camera, Ivan Molina, Franco Castro, Matias Martinez, Sebastian Canencia, Nahuel Villamayor

Kenya: David Mosambayi, Ogak Odhiambo, Chrispine Otieno, Obiero Victor, Obilo James, Erick Ocheing Oduor, Nicholas Mutua, Embuga George, Elphas Otieno, James Kamweti, Patrick NzauIzaac Njoroge, Esau Otieno, Kevin Wire

IKF has earlier said that Kabaddi Masters will be an annual event henceforth in order to realise the long-term goal of getting kabaddi a place in the Olympics. The inaugural edition will be telecasted at 8.p.m. IST on the Star Sports Network: SS2, SS2 HD, SS1 Hindi, SS1 Hindi HD, SS1 Tamil.