Kohli consolidates atop ICC Test rankings chart; gains for Rahane, Bumrah

Virat Kohli Ranking,ICC Test Rankings,ICC Player Rankings,Kohli ICC Ranking,MRF Tyres ICC Test Player Rankings

Virat Kohli’s gritty century in the first innings failed to save India from the defeat in the Perth Test, but the Team India captain rode the brilliant knock to further consolidate his position  as the No. 1 Test batsman in the International Cricket Council rankings.

Jaspreet Bumrah and Rishabh Pant have also reached their respective career-best rankings.

Kohli and New Zealand captain Kane Williamson have consolidated their positions in the MRF Tyres ICC Player Rankings for Test Batsmen, even as Tom Latham, Angelo Mathews and Nathan Lyon have made considerable gains in the latest rankings updates out on today (Thursday).

Top-ranked Kohli has gained 14 points to reach 934 points after a valiant first-innings knock of 123 in the second Test at Perth which Australia won by 146 runs on Tuesday to draw level at 1-1 in the four-match series. Kohli has thus increased his lead over Williamson from seven to 19 points.

Also Read: Virat Kohli brand One8 breaches ₹100 crore sales mark in year one: Report

Second-ranked Williamson too has something to cheer about after scoring 91 in the drawn first of two Tests against Sri Lanka, which ended in Wellington on Wednesday. He has reached a personal best of 915 points, the joint-25th highest ever and equal with ICC Hall of Famer George Headley of the West Indies.

For India, apart from Kohli, vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane (up two places to 15th) and wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant (up 11 places to a career-best 48th) have also moved up among batsmen while fast bowlers Mohammad Shami (up two places to 24th) and Jasprit Bumrah (up five places to a career-best 28th) have advanced in the list for bowlers.

MRF Tyres ICC Test Player Rankings (as on 20 December, following the conclusion of the Perth and Wellington Tests):

BATSMEN (top 10) : 1. Virat Kohli (Ind, 934); 2. Kane Williamson (NZ, 915); 3. Steve Smith (Aus, 892); 4. Cheteswar Pujara (Ind, 816); 5. Joe Root (Eng, 807); 6. David Warner (Aus, 787); 7. D. Karunaratne (SL, 752); 8. Dean Elgar (SA, 724). 9. (combined) Azhar Ali (Pak, 708) and Henry Nicholls (NZ, 708).

BOWLERS (top 10): 1. Kagiso Rabada (SA, 882); 2. James Anderson (Eng, 874); 3. Vernon Philander (SA, 826); 4. M. Abbas (Pak, 821); 5. Ravindra Jadeja (Ind, 796); 6. R. Ashwin (Ind, 778); 7. Nathan Lyon (Aus, 766); 8. Pat Cummins (Aus, 761); 9. Josh Hazlewood (Aus, 758); and 10. Yasir Shah (Pak, 757).

ALL-ROUNDERS (top five): 1. Shakib Al Hasan (Ban, 415); 2. Ravindra Jadeja (Ind, 384); 3. Vernon Philander (SA, 370); 4. Jason Holder (WI, 365) and Ben Stokes (Eng, 342).