Kohli Sportstar’s Sportsperson of the Year; Warne bestows honour

Virat Kohli,Rajasthan Royals,Shane Warne,Sportsperson of the Year,Rajasthan Royals Brand Ambassador

Virat Kohli is Sports Sportsperson of the Year. The honour was bestowed on the Team India and Rajasthan Royals captain by legendry wrist spinner and Rajasthan Royals brand icon Shane Warne.

Kohli is adjudged Cricketer of the Year award this year for his record-breaking performances as well as leading India to their first ever Test series win in Australia in 71 years. Virat Kolhi-led team became the first Asian team ever to win a Test series Down Under, besides also scoring their maiden triumph in a bilateral one-day international series in Australia.

India’s most popular Sportstar magazine requested Warne to present the prestigious award to Kohli. Warne is on an India visit to kick off the season for Rajasthan Royals as team’s Royal brand ambassador.

“Virat is a very inspiring cricketer all around the world. He stands up for what he believes in and speaks his heart. He has got a lot of inbuilt skill and talent which is good competition and the will to complete the job. I congratulate him for this award and wish him more success,” said Warne.

Also Read: ICC World Cup 2019: Full schedule, live streaming, live telecast & TV channel, broadcasting…

IPL 2019: Warne brand ambassador, Pink the colour for Rajasthan Royals

IPL Moneyball: Virat Kohli 3rd Cricketer to enter 100 Cr salary Club

This is my biggest achievement: Virat Kohli

The magazine has reinstated the iconic Sportstar Aces Award to commemorate Sportstar’s 40th Anniversary. The awards in 1990s were considered among the best honours for a  sportsperson.

This award recognises the untold stories, successes and struggles of sporting icons across the realms of Indian sport. The award, which has been previously won by sporting heroes like Sachin Tendulkar, Vishvanathan Anand & Leander Paes, is a means to recognise the contribution of sportspersons to their respective sport and inspire others to follow.

The awards jury consisted of sporting legends Sunil Gavaskar, M. M. Somaya, Anju Bobby George, Anjali Bhagwat, and N. Ram, Chairman of The Hindu Group Publishing. Guided by fan votes, the jury recognised sporting achievements in the 2018 calendar year.

Also Read: Kohli, Bumrah back; but Karthik omitted for ODI squads against Australia

ICC names Kohli captain in men’s Test and ODI Teams Of The Year

ICC AWARDS: Kohli creates history with clean sweep of three top honours