Lodha impact: Six UP Cricket Association officials step down

Six officials of the Uttar Pradesh Cricket Association (UPCA) have stepped down from their official positions. The implementation of the Lodha Committee recommendations had found them to be ineligible.

Those who have stepped down include Secretary Rajiv Shukla and Vice Presidents Tahir Hasan and Madan Mohan Mishra. In addition, Joint Secretaries BC Jain, KN Tandon and Suhaib Ahmed are the other officials who have stepped down.

Shukla and Joint Secretary BC Jain have completed the maximum nine-year tenure. Others are over 70-years-old, making them ineligible for office. However, Shukla and 10 others can continue to be on the Board of Directors.

At least 21 state units of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have now accepted and implemented the Lodha Committee reforms. Other state units are in the process of carrying out internal reforms.

The Lodha Committee had also recommended ‘one state-one vote’ principle for BCCI. Railways, Services and All India Universities are now relegated to associate member status without voting rights.