Moscow to host Archery World Cup final 2019

Archery World Cup final 2019,Archery World Cup final,Archery World Cup 2019,Archery World Cup,Archery World Cup final Moscow

Russian Capital Moscow has been named to host the Archery World Cup final on September 6 and 7. The first international archery event in Russia since the 1980 Olympic Games will take place in Red Square in the centre of Moscow

Archery’s international circuit was launched in 2006 and is into its 14th season in 2019. Last year’s Archery World Cup Final was held in Samsun, Turkey.

World Archery president Prof Dr Ugur Erdener said: “The Hyundai Archery World Cup Final is an event purpose-built for iconic venues. Not only is Red Square a stunning location, but it is the perfect place for Russia’s successful archers to compete on the world circuit on home soil for the first time in a long time.”

“As we close in towards the end of this Olympic cycle, we expect another increase in television exposure and public interest in the Hyundai Archery World Cup Final and we are confident that Moscow can deliver a quality event that will be necessary to fully take advantage of this opportunity.”

The Hyundai Archery World Cup circuit consists of four stages and a final in 2019.

Stage 1: Medellin, Colombia – 22-28 April

Stage 2: Shanghai, China – 6-12 May

Stage 3: Antalya, Turkey – 20-26 May

Stage 4: Berlin, Germany – 1-7 July

Final: Moscow, Russia – 6-7 September

Competitions are held for the following categories: recurve men, recurve women, compound men and compound women. Eight athletes in each division are invited to compete at the Hyundai Archery World Cup Final.

For the second year in a row, the winner of each stage receives an automatic invitation; one place is reserved for the host country; the final three places are awarded to the athletes that have the most points in the Hyundai Archery World Cup Ranking at the end of the season and are not already qualified as stage winners.

Also Read: Archery Association of India to sue Dutch airline

(Places are awarded to an athlete and are not transferable. A maximum of two athletes per nation per division is permitted.)

Two minor rule changes were introduced at the start of the season. Firstly, the Longines Prize for Precision, which rewards the most consistently accurate athletes, will be based on the percentage of 10s shot rather than the number of 10s at each stage. This mitigates any disadvantage recurve archers receive if they win matches quickly. The season-long awards, for compound archers in 2019, remain based on the total number of 10s.

Secondly, the higher-seeded athlete in each match at the Archery World Cup Final will be able to choose whether they wish to shoot first or second, or on the left or right target. Their opponent will then choose the option not picked by the higher-seeded athlete.

With two stages of the 2019 Archery World Cup already completed, seven athletes are confirmed for the final.

Mike Schloesser, Sara Lopez, Kang Chae Young and Brady Ellison won the first event in Medellin; Braden Gellenthien, So Chaewon and Lee Woo Seok booked tickets in Shanghai.

The third stage of the international circuit takes place this week in Antalya, Turkey.

Also Read: Praveen finishes in top-10 in World Cup compound qualifications

AAI picks ‘wrong coaches’ for World Cup

SPNI acquires archery broadcast rights for Indian sub-continent