Mumbai Indians win IPL 2020 trophy, record 5th IPL title for Rohit Sharma’s team

Mumbai Indians win IPL 2020 : Cometh the hour, cometh the man! Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma once again proved that he is the man for the big occasions as he smashed 68 off 51 balls against Delhi Capitals to help his side win the IPL 2020 trophy.

Chasing a modest 157-run target, MI never looked in trouble and it was Rohit who played the captain’s innings and plundered 5 fours and 4 sixes en route his 68 to make sure that his team cross the finishing line with five wickets in hand to clinch unprecedented
fifth IPL title.
Moreover, five IPL titles are certain to make Rohit the undisputed ‘Numero Uno’ player-cum-leader in the IPL Universe. Little wonder, he was picked the Gamechanger of the match for his half-century and outstanding captaincy.

Mumbai Indians’ IPL titles win
  • 2013 – Mumbai Indians beat Chennai Super Kings by 23 runs in final
  • 2015 – Mumbai Indians beat Chennai Super Kings by 41 runs in final
  • 2017 – Mumbai Indians beat Rising Pune Supergiants by 1 run in final
  • 2019 – Mumbai Indians beat Chennai Super Kings by 1 run in final
  • 2020 – Mumbai Indians beat Delhi Capitals by five wickets in final
Earlier, Trent Boult (3/30) had reduced the Capitals to 22 for three with an excellent display of fast bowling, but Shreyas Iyer’s unbeaten fifty lifted Delhi Capitals to 156 for seven after the defending champions had them in all sorts of trouble in the summit showdown of the 13th edition of the lucrative event.

However, MI made the target look too easy as other than Rohit, Quinton de Kock (20), SuryaKumar Yadav (19) and Ishan Kishan (33*) also contributed with bat to help Mumbai’s cause.

ALSO READ: IPL 2020 Orange Cap: KL Rahul wins Orange Cap, Shikhar Dhawan stays second in the tally

With the win, MI also became only the second team after Chennai Super Kings to defend their IPL title.

IPL Winners List

Year IPL Winners
2008 Rajasthan Royals
2009 Deccan Chargers
2010 Chennai Super Kings
2011 Chennai Super Kings
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders
2013 Mumbai Indians
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders
2015 Mumbai Indians
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad
2017 Mumbai Indians
2018 Chennai Super Kings
2019 Mumbai Indians
2020 Mumbai Indians


Records Galore for Rohit Sharma
  • With the win against DC, Rohit keeps his record as MI skipper intact as Mumbai have never lost an IPL final under his captaincy.
  • Rohit Sharma became the only captain to score 2 fifties in IPL finals. Before Tuesday, the opener had scored a 26-ball 50 against Chennai Super Kings in Kolkata, in IPL 2015.
  • Earlier in the match, Rohit achieved another milestone as he completed 4,000 runs for MI.
  • He also reached 3000 runs in the IPL as captain.
  • During the same match, Rohit also became the second player to make 200 appearances in the tournament after MS Dhoni.
  • This is the sixth IPL title for Rohit Sharma as he won one for the now-defunct Deccan Chargers in 2009 and the other five have come with MI.

Rohit’s befitting reply to Team India selectors

With the super innings in the IPL 2020 final, Rohit has proved that he is completely fit for the India tour of Australia. The opener was earlier completely ignored for the upcoming tour as the selectors cited his hamstring injury concerns and later when Rohit made a comeback for MI, he was included only in the Test squad.

ALSO READ: India Tour of Australia : Rohit Sharma included in the Indian Test team, Virat Kohli to return after 1st Test

However, the MI skipper, with his brilliant fifty in the final against DC, showed that he is completely fit and in form to be considered for the T20I and ODI series against Australia and to prove a point, he fetched those doubles, tap and run singles in the final.