NBA Awards: New York Knicks’ Tom Thibodeau Wins 2020-21 NBA Coach of the Year Award

NBA Coach of the Year 2021, NBA Awards: New York Knicks’ Tom Thibodeau Wins 2020-21 NBA Coach of the Year Award ahead of Monty Williams and Quin Snyder.

The New York Knicks hired Thibodeau in July with the hope of terminating their seven-year playoff dryness, a strip that had traversed six head coaches (full-time and interim).

He presented instant results as the Knicks posted a 41-31 record to earn a playoff spot.

That’s what we need. We need to be coached,” All-Star forward Julius Randle said in May. “We need to be held accountable. So if we’re not doing our job, he’s going to tell us about it. That’s how should it be.

NBA Coach of the Year 2021: Thibodeau, who earlier led the Chicago Bulls and Minnesota Timberwolves’ staffs, was named Coach of the Year with the Bulls in 2010-11. He is the third Knicks winner, joining Red Holzman (1969-70) and Pat Riley (1992-93).

NBA Awards: Julius Randle wins Most Improved Player, Jordan Clarkson becomes 6th Man of the Year 

New York Knicks: Tom Thibodeau's culture change seemed crazy at first, but it's working

NBA Awards 2021: Finalists for various awards

Rookie of the Year Finalists

  • Charlotte Hornets point guard LaMelo Ball
  • Minnesota Timberwolves wing Anthony Edward
  • Sacramento Kings guard Tyrese Haliburton

Sixth Man of the Year

  • Utah Jazz guard Jordan Clarkson
  • Utah Jazz forward Joe Ingles
  • New York Knicks point guard Derrick Rose

Defensive Player of the Year

  • Utah Jazz center Rudy Gobert
  • Philadelphia 76ers point guard Ben Simmons
  • Golden State Warriors forward Draymond Green

Coach of the Year

  • Quin Snyder, Utah Jazz
  • Tom Thibodeau, New York Knicks
  • Monty Williams, Phoenix Suns

Most Improved Player

  • Detroit Pistons wing Jerami Grant
  • Denver Nuggets wing Michael Porter Jr.
  • New York Knicks power forward Julius Randle

Most Valuable Player

  • Stephen Curry
  • Nikola Jokic
  • Joel Embiid