No takers for Pak players on Day 1 of PKL 2017 Auction

PKL auction

Pro Kabaddi League enters its fifth edition when it begins in July 2017 and the first step towards it is auction. Four new teams have been introduced for this season added to the eight already in the league. Part of the pool for the Auction are 131 new young players, after seven players were retained by the teams. The auction for the fifth edition of PKL 2017 is taking place in New Delhi with over 400 players set to participate in the fifth season. Each franchise is allowed to buy 18-25 players to form a team and will consist of 2 to 4 overseas players. 60+ international players from 16 countries are going under the hammer.

However, no Pakistan player was picked up by any franchise as expected. The auction will again be held tomorrow. Other than that, the new franchises were permitted one priority pick before the auction. Team Haryana had the opportunity to pick first and they went for Surender Nada, part of the Indian team that lifted the 2016 Kabaddi World Cup. In a surprising move, Team Gujarat picked Fazel Atrachali of Iran while Team U.P. chose not to pick any priority player.

Priority Picks by New Franchises:
Sr.No. Team                              Player                                      Position
1         Team Haryana           Surender Nada                      Defender, Left-corner
2         Team U.P.                    No pick
3         Team Gujarat            Fazel Atrachali (Overseas)     Defender, Left-corner
4         Team Tamil Nadu       Ajay Thakur                          Raider

There were new young players introduced at the auction this year. Here is the list:

Sr.No.              Team                                                Players
1                Team Gujarat                                  Rohit Gulia, C Kalai Arasan
2                Team Tamil Nadu                             Bhavani Rajput, Prathap, Rajesh
3                 Team Haryana                                Mayur Shivtarkar, Vikas, Neeraj Kumar
4                  Team U.P.                                      Nitesh Kumar, Pankaj
5                  Bengal Warriors                             Sandeep Malik, Ameares Mondal
6                  Patna Pirates                                 Vijay, Parveen Birwal, Arvind Kumar
7                   U Mumba                                      E Subash, Surender Singh, Shiv Om
8                   Dabang Delhi K.C.                         Tapas Pal, Vishal
9                  Jaipur Pink Panthers                       Ajit Singh, Santhapanaselvam