Odisha inks MoU with TTFI to host Commonwealth Table Tennis

Table Tennis Federation of India,Table Tennis Federation,Commonwealth Table Tennis Championship,Table Tennis Championship,Sports Business News India

The Odisha Government has entered into a memorandum of understanding with the Table Tennis Federation of India (TTFI) to host 21stCommonwealth Table Tennis Championship in the State.

The MoU has been signed between Department of Sports and Youth Services, Odisha, Table Tennis Federation of India (TTFI) and Odisha State Table Tennis Association (OSTTA) in the presence of Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.

Sports Secretary Vishal Dev signed the MoU with TTFI Senior Vice-President SN Sultan and OSTTA President LN Gupta. Odisha’s Sports Minister Tusharkanti Behera was also present on the occasion.

“The championship is an important step for us in promoting sports, especially table tennis in the state. I hope the event will bring renewed focus on table tennis, in which India has been performing well in recent times,” Patnaik said

The 21st Commonwealth Table Tennis Championship will begin from July 17. Fourteen countries will participate in the championship which will be held at Jawaharlal Indoor Stadium in Cuttack from July 17 to July 22.

The participating countries are – India, Singapore, Malaysia, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, England, Scotland, Wales, Jersey, Australia, Cyprus, South Africa, Nigeria and Pakistan.

Also Read: World Table Tennis championship : ITTF launches Twitter emoji

India to bid for 2024 World TT Championships

Decks cleared for IOC nod to international events in India