PBL 2020: Delhi, Ahmedabad opt out; 6-7 team league on cards

PBL 2020 Season 5,PBL 2020,Premier Badminton League 2020,PBL 2020 Teams,PBL Season 5 auction

The Premier Badminton League 2020 will be a seven to eight-team affair. The 5th season of the franchisee-based, professional badminton league is slated from January 20 to February 9 next year.

The league last year was played between nine teams. However, for the upcoming season, there are only seven teams on board and Delhi Dashers and Ahmedabad Smash Masters have pulled out.

There have been issues with the Ahmedabad Smash Masters franchise owners last season, too. Going into the fifth edition, Delhi Dashers team owners Dalmia Cement (Bharat) Ltd have appraised PBL organizers Sportz & Live Entertainment about their decision to opt out of the league.

Read: Premier Badminton League Season 5 from January 20

With the PBL Season 5 auction scheduled for the last week of November, the organizers are optimistic about roping in at least one more franchisee to make the league an eight-team affair. “The Ahmedabad team may be reinstated with a new franchisee,” SportzLive Chairman Atul Pandey has confirmed to insidesport.co. “The league will have seven or eight teams.”

The PBL Season 5 will be played at four venues – Chennai, Delhi, Lucknow and Bengaluru. Mumbai, Hyderabad, Pune, Ahmedabad and Bengaluru were the host cities for the last season of the league.

Though a formal announcement is still awaited, PBL Season 5 auction is tentatively scheduled for November 26th or 27th in New Delhi.

Now Arunachal Pradesh announces badminton league

Tentative Teams and Cities: Awadhe Warriors (UP), Bengaluru Raptors (Bengaluru), Chennai Smashers (Chennai), Hyderabad Hunters (Hyderabad), Mumbai Rockets (Mumbai), North East Warriors (Assam), Pune 7 Aces (Pune).

Read: Sourabh Verma enters main draw of Hong Kong Open badminton