PL clubs vote to end transfer window earlier

PL clubs vote to end transfer window earlier- InsideSport

Premier League clubs have voted to end the summer transfer window before the start of the season from 2018-19 onwards. The rule amendment means from next season the deadline for transfers will be 17:00 BST on Thursday 9 August 2018.

The current window closed on Aug. 31, more than two weeks after the start of the domestic campaign, but this will now change to 5 p.m. on the day before the start of the season.

The vote, not unanimous, took place at a shareholders meeting. Fourteen Premier League clubs voted in favour of the amendment, the minimum needed for the plans to be approved. Manchester United, Manchester City, Watford, Swansea and Crystal Palace voted against, while Burnley abstained.

The window across Europe runs until 31 August. The Premier League’s move means while clubs will be able to sell until that date, buying activity will cease on 9 August for the 2018-19 season.

The new rule, which applies only to the acquisition of players, will be for Premier League Clubs only and have no bearing on other leagues and competitions.

Clubs will still have the ability to sell players to other leagues in which the transfer window is open, as they can now to leagues that have different transfer window dates, such as Major League Soccer.

The actual dates of the windows varies from country to country — and a transfer window is open somewhere in the world every day of the year – but in Europe they tend to be from the start of June to the end of August, with a shorter midseason window in January.

Since the windows were introduced, Premier League clubs have spent £10 billion on players, with this summer’s spend a record £1.4 billion.