Portuguese GP : Hamilton makes history, registers record 92nd Formula 1 race victory

Lewis Hamilton storms to win the Portuguese Grand Prix by more than 25 seconds. He had dropped to third initially but regained the lead and disappeared into the distance. With this victory Hamilton became Formula 1’s most successful driver of all time in terms of victories – a mighty record that came after yet another mighty drive from the six-time World Champion.

He now has the outright record of Formula 1 wins, overtaking Michael Schumacher’s total of 91.

With this HAMILTON took another giant step towards cementing his status as Formula One’s GOAT by winning his record-breaking 92nd Grand Prix in Portugal. And with it the reigning world champion moved closer towards title No7 and equalling Michael Schumacher’s haul.

Portuguese GP : Hamilton makes history, registers record 92nd Formula 1 race victory

Hamilton finished nearly 25.6 seconds ahead of Mercedes teammate Valtteri Bottas and 34.5 clear of Red Bull’s Max Verstappen for his eighth win of another dominant season. He also took an extra point for the fastest lap to extend his huge championship lead to 77 points over Bottas with just five races left.

Hamilton won his first F1 race in 2007 and first title the following year. But his career really took off when he replaced the retired Schumacher at Mercedes in 2013. Hamilton has added five F1 titles and the runaway championship leader is now odds-on to equal Schumacher’s record of seven.

Hamilton took a record-extending 97th career pole position, starting ahead of Bottas and Verstappen on a track being used for the first time in F1. McLaren’s Carlos Sainz Jr. briefly held the race lead and then Bottas led until Hamilton passed him on Lap 20.

After that he coasted to the finish line and into the record books.

Top 10 @ Formula 1 Portuguese Grand Prix

  1. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
  2. Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)
  3. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  4. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
  5. Pierre Gasly (Alpha Tauri)
  6. Carlos Sainz (McLaren)
  7. Sergio Perez (Racing Point)
  8. Esteban Ocon (Renault)
  9. Daniel Ricciardo (Renault)
  10. Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)