Rani to lead 18-strong hockey squad at Women’s Olympics Test Event

Hockey India,Indian Hockey Team,Indian Women's Hockey Team,Tokyo Olympics 2020,FIH Women's Series Finals

Hockey India has named an 18-member Women’s team for the forthcoming Tokyo Olympics 2020 Test Event, to be held in the Japanese capital from August 17 to 21The Indian team will be captained by Rani. Savita has been named the vice-captained.

The composition of the team is similar to the one which participated at the FIH Women’s Series Finals in Hiroshima earlier this year. With Chief Coach Sjoerd Marijne has opted for only two changes in the 18-member squad. Sunita Lakra and Jyoti has been replaced by youngsters Sharmila Devi and Reena Khokhar. Reena makes a comeback after an injury. Sharmila will be expecting to make her debut for the national side.

The Indian team, currently ranked No. 10 in the FIH Rankings, will be facing tough challenges as they will be up against the likes of World No. 2 Australia, World No. 11 China and hosts Japan who are currently ranked 14th in the FIH Rankings.

Also Read: Registrations start for Hockey India Coaching Education Pathway

Hockey India names 18-member men’s team for Olympic Test Event

“We are looking forward to playing three top countries at the Tokyo Olympics 2020 Test Event. I rate them all highly. We have selected a squad of 18 players where only 16 players will be allowed to play in accordance to the Olympic standards. I will be very interested to see how we fare against these countries, and what we need to improve for the FIH Olympic Qualifiers because everything that we do, will be focused on that. We will be learning good lessons in this tour regardless of whatever happens,” said Chief Coach Sjoerd Marijne looking ahead to the event.

The squad:

1. Savita (GK, Vice-Captain)

2. Rajani Etimarpu (GK)

3. Deep Grace Ekka

4. Reena Khokhar

5. Gurjit Kaur

6. Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam

7. Salima Tete

8. Nisha

9. Nikki Pradhan

10. Monika

11. Lilima Minz

12. Neha Goyal

13. Rani (Captain)

14. Navneet Kaur

15. Vandana Katariya

16. Lalremsiami

17. Navjot Kaur

18. Sharmila Devi

Also Read: Hockey India invites Australian Kavanagh to national coaching camp