Pietersen, Morgan, Steyn among stars without IPL contracts

Kevin Supergiants

Dale SteynKevin PietersenEoin Morgan and Corey Anderson are among the IPL stars without contracts ahead of the tenth season of the lndian Premier League (IPL).

With three months to go before the tenth season of IPL begins, 63 cricketers, of which 28 are overseas players, have been released by the eight IPL franchises for the 2017 season, the BCCI confirmed in a statement.

Pawan Negi (Wisden)

The board also confirmed that 140 players, including 44 overseas cricketers, have been retained.

Rising Pune Supergiants, the newest among the franchises, decided to release 11 players, including Pietersen, Ishant Sharma and Irfan Pathan. Kings XI Punjab released four players. Pawan Negi, who made headlines at this year’s player auction when he Delhi Daredevils snapped him up for an eye-popping Rs 8.5 crore from a base price of 30 lakh, has been released too.

The players were supposed to be released by December 15 and the teams were expected to submit a list of the players to the IPL. For example, of the 28 members in the Mumbai Indians team, 20 were retained and 8 were released, four of who are overseas players.

The released players from each team will be put to auction, expected to take place in February after which the teams for all the eight franchisees will be finalised.