Revolt in DDCA; Call to abolish Sehwag-led cricket committee, selection committees

ddca president, ddca latest news, ddca rajat sharma, Revolt in DDCA, virender sehwag ddca

Virender Sehwag, Akash Chopra, Gautam Gambhir and Rahul Sanghvi may soon be asked to relinquish their posts in the Delhi and District Cricket Association’s cricket committee. Voice of dissent is against the president Rajat Sharma and the committees “appointed by him” is led by the Director Cricket, DDCA, Sanjay Bhardwaj.

Bhardwaj is not just questioning the manner of the appointment of the Cricket Committee and the other selection committees in the DDCA; but has also emphasized that all the nominations, made “unilaterally by new DDCA President Rajat Sharma are also in violation of the BCCI Constitution Draft approved by the Supreme Court of India” on August 9 (Thursday).

A former First Class cricketer of repute, who has represented Delhi for five consecutive seasons in the early 1980s, was elected as the Cricket Director from the Rajat Sharma-Vinod Tihara led panel, that had swept the DDCA election in the last week of June.


Now, Bhardwaj along with Tihara is leading a revolt against Rajat Sharma.

Addressing a Press Conference in the Capital today (Saturday), Bhardwaj has challenged the appointment of the three-member DDCA Cricket Committee on the ground of conflict of interest for the committee members as well as the DDCA president. “The appointments are also in violation of the BCCI Constitution,” Bhardwaj alleged.

Bhardwaj has alleged that all the selection committees and the cricket committee members are either active first-class cricketers or are running their own cricket academies. “Their say in any manner in the DDCA selection matters will amount to the conflict of interests,” he said.

The DDCA Cricket Director has also alleged that Sehwag’s appointment also amounts to the conflict of interest on part of Sharma as the former India opener now draws remuneration from him as a cricket analyst/expert on the India TV news channel, owned by the DDCA president. He further alleged that under Rajat Sharma the DDCA is running as a “subsidiary company” of India TV.

Also Read: DDCA President Rajat Sharma faces revolt from his own men

In the revolt against the new DDCA president, Bhardwaj is supported by the “kingmaker in the DDCA politics Vinod Tihara”, while the President enjoys the support of the other elected members.

The Sharma camp in a Press release last evening had dismissed the Tihara-led revolt as an “act of vested interests”. The release issued jointly by Sharma; directors Sudhir Agarwal, Renu Khanna, Gautam Gambhir, Nitin Gupta, SN Sharma, Apurv Jain, Ranjan Tiwari, Alok Mittal and RP Singh; vice-president Rakesh Bansal and joint secretary Rajan Manchandha was also a show of strength by the group in power in the DDCA.