Rishabh Pant controversy: IND vs ENG 3rd Test India wicket-keeper caught in gloves drama at Headingley: Check Video

Rishabh Pant controversy, IND vs ENG 3rd Test: India wicket-keeper caught in gloves drama on Day 2 at Headingley, Rishabh Pant, India’s wicket-keeper was in the centre of the gloves controversy that erupted on Day two of the third Test in Headingley.

During England’s first innings, match officials pointed out that Pant was keeping with illegally-taped gloves.

Also Read: IND vs ENG 3rd Test: Day 3 Highlights: Pujara, Kohli leads…

Rishabh Pant controversy: IND vs ENG 3rd Test India wicket-keeper caught in gloves drama at Headingley: Check Video

The incident happened in the 94th over when Dawid Malan attempted to flick a delivery from seamer Mohammed Siraj only to get a thin edge that was taken by Pant behind the stumps. India skipper Virat Kohli went for a successful review as Malan walked back for 70 and Tea was taken.

Also Read: IND vs ENG LIVE score: Joe Root’s record century gives England 345 runs lead, test almost out of India’s grip, follow live updates

Post the 20-minute Tea break, the umpires inspected Pant’s gloves and asked the wicket-keeper to remove some tape from the webbing of his glove.

With Richard Kettleborough as witness, skipper Kohli removed the strapping from the fourth and fifth fingers of Pant’s gloves.

Former England batsman David Bumble raised questions regarding the webbing and told Sky Sports: “I don’t think you can stick fingers together. Dawid Malan was caught down the leg-side. Did the wicketkeeper have that tape on his gloves? Is it a problem? A bowler can’t bowl with tape on his fingers.”

Law 27.2.1 states, “If, as permitted under 27.1, the wicketkeeper wears gloves, they shall have no webbing between the fingers except joining index finger and thumb, where webbing may be inserted as a means of support.”

However, Law 28.1 states: “Protection for the hand or fingers may be worn only with the consent of the umpires.”

Former England captain Nasser Hussain further said that Pant was not allowed to tape his gloves in the fashion he did.

There’s lots in the Laws of the game about the webbing, but we’re hearing from the third umpire, Richard Illingworth, that he wasn’t allowed and he’s not allowed to tape his gloves like that, so they’ve asked him to take that tape off,” he said.

Day two of the Leeds Test was dominated by England as skipper Joe Root hit a brilliant century as England finished on 423/8 at stumps.

Rishabh Pant gloves controversy: IND vs ENG 3rd Test India wicket-keeper caught in gloves drama at Headingley: Check Video

Advertisement