Road Safety World Series: Sri Lanka face India test

An exciting duel is on the cards as India Legends will take on Sri Lanka legends in the third match of the Road Safety World Series. Both the teams will be fresh from victories in their respective tournament openers as they take to the field at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai tomorrow (Tuesday).

Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag had turned the time machine back as they reproduced the class of their glorious partnerships from the past in the seven-wicket win over the West Indies Legends at the Wankhede Stadium on Saturday. Riding on the 83-run stand between Sachin and Sehwag, India had chased down the 151-run target with seven wickets to spare.

The action lasting 38 overs and two deliveries at the Wankhede was nostalgic in my ways. Sachin was playing in front of his home crowd for the first time since hanging his blue Team India flannels. The Sachin…. Sachin… chants in unison were reminiscent of the fact that the Master still rules the heart of the fans who worshipped him as the God of the sport which is termed like a religion in India. Sehwag on his day remains as destructive and fearless as he was during the days which have seem an Indian emerging as the Sultan of Multan.

The Masters must have retired, but they are not tired at all when it comes to entertaining the millions of fans with their trait. Sri Lanka Legends skipper Tilakratne Dilshan proved that a he held his nerve to guide the Islanders to an exciting seven-run win over energetic Australia Legends in the second match.

Batting first on Sunday, the Sri Lanka Legends put on 161 for eight on the board and then tumbled out the Kangaroos for 154. The Willowers and the bowlers might be past their prime, but they are still capable of spinning magic when put against contemporaries.

The islanders will face their real test against India tomorrow.


India Legends: Sachin Tendulkar (Captain), Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Ajit Agarkar, Sanjay Bangar, Munaf Patel, Mohammad Kaif, Pragyan Ojha, Sairaj Bahutule, Abey Kuruvilla, Zaheer Khan, Irfan Pathan, Sameer Dighe.

Sri Lanka Legends: Tillakaratne Dilshan (Captain), Chaminda Vaas, Farveez Maharoof, Marvan Atapattu, Muttiah Muralitharan, Rangana Herath, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Sachithra Senanayake, Chamara Kapugedera, Thilan Thushara, Upul Chandana, Malinda Warnapura.2

The match scheduled to start at 7:00 pm (IST) will be broadcast LIVE and Exclusive on Colours Cineplex HD, Colours Cineplex and Colours Kannada Cinema. The feed will also be streamed LIVE on Jio mobile and Voot digital platforms.