Sehwag gearing up for comeback under coach Akram!

Wasim Akram training,Virender Sehwag cricket league,Sportstar cricket live,League franchisees Maratha Arabians,IPL

Virender Sehwag is gunning to set the field ablaze with his cracking shots. Pakistan’s veteran all-rounder Wasim Akram has the job on hand to get the swashbuckling Sehwag to his striking best. Sri Lanka’s wicketkeeper batsman Kumar Sangakkara is among the legends to pad up once again.

The trio of cricketing geniuses – Sehwag, Akram and Sangakkara – will reportedly unite on the cricket field for the T-10 Cricket League in Sharjah from December 14.

League franchisees Maratha Arabians have engaged Akram to coach and mentor the side, which will be led by Sehwag. Sri Lankan veteran Sangakkara is another key player in the team.

“Akram’s expertise will help the young bowlers and he will guide the team accordingly. With Sehwag around, we are hoping for a great season,” has quoted the team owner Parvez Khan as saying from from Dubai.

Akram, also a former bowling mentor with the IPL team Kolkata Knight Riders, has been active as a coach, mentor and commentator after bidding adieu to the competitive cricket. “Akram knows the conditions in Sharjah well and that will help the side do better in the tournament,” one of the team officials has reportedly told Sportstar.

Akram and Sehwag are scheduled to attend the players draft in Dubai on Sunday. The former Pakistan captain too is looking forward to working with Sehwag. “Having Sehwag as the team captain has accelerated my excitement. T-10 is the shortest format of cricket, so it’s going to be amazing to watch a shorter format than T-20,” Akram is quoted as saying. “I am really extremely thrilled to be appointed as the mentor and the coach of Team Maratha Arabians.”
West Indian star batsman Chris Gayle, ex-Pakistan all-rounder Shahid Afridi , Inzamam ul Ha, Misbah ull Hlaaq and Englishman Eoin Morgan are among the star attractions for the six-team, ten-overs-a-side league.

Punjabi Legends, Pakhtoons, Maratha Arabians, Bangla Tigers, Colombo Lions and Kerala Kings are the six franchisee based teams to take part in cricket’s shortest version competition.