Six Member committee to review honours, cash awards for sportspersons

Sports Ministry,Sportspersons cash awards,Sports Cash Awards,Sports Award,Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports

The Department of Sports in the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports has formed a six member committee to review various awards schemes, allocation of awards and cash prizes to Indian athletes.

Ms Justice (retired) Indermeet Kaur Kochhar will be heading the committee, which will also include a director or deputy secretary from the MYAS (Sports Ministry). The other four nominated members are six-time Winter Olympian luge star Shiva-Keshavan, former international athlete Ashwini Nachappa, Mohandas Pai and Times Digital Chief Editor Rajesh Kalra, states a Times of India report.

The committee will work towards assuring more transparency in awarding sports honours and cash prizes to athletes.

The committee has a mandate to change the awards schemes, if required. It can also increase and decrease the amount of the cash awards. Its report may also include suggestion on the number of awards being given out per year.

The committee will also review the eligibility and marks criteria of the sports awards. It can also recommend the inclusion of new international sports events which can be considered for the cash award scheme.

The committee has been asked to submit its report within 10 days.

Also Read: Tokyo 2020 : Sports Ministry allocates 100 Cr for athletes preparation under TOPS

Sports Ministry grants Rs 35cr to SAI for TOPS athletes

Sports Ministry initiates move to lease out SAI stadia: Report

Sports Ministry’s assistance to NSFs dip, SAI shoots up in last 3 years