BAN vs SL 2nd ODI Preview: Focus on Sri Lanka’s batting as Bangladesh look to seal series

sl vs ban, sl vs ban playing xi, sl vs ban preview
BAN vs SL 2nd ODI Preview: The middle-order muddle with both bat and ball was the prime reason for Sri Lanka’s loss on Sunday. The visitors will be hoping to address the problem when they take on Bangladesh in the attempt at a comeback in the three-match series. The hosts, meanwhile, will be eyeing to register a win, seal the series and top the World Cup Super League table.

In the first game, the Islanders started off well but lack the aggression in the middle overs which hurt them dearly. The onus will be on the experienced hands — Kusal Perera and Danushka Gunathilaka — to pick up the team’s morale.

Sri Lanka are currently ranked 12th, and a win will help them retain that spot. Bangladesh, on the other hand, will leap to the top of the table, displacing World Champions England while at it.

ALSO READ| BAN vs SL 2nd ODI LIVE: How to watch Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka 2nd ODI LIVE Streaming in your country, India

BAN vs SL 2nd ODI Preview, What to expect: Another spin-friendly track is expected in Dhaka as spinners accounted for 10 off the 16 wickets in the first ODI. There is a high chance of rain interruptions in the second half of the game which could tempt the winning captain to bowl first.

BAN vs SL 2nd ODI Preview: Team news


Mustafizur Rahman struggled with his calf during his spell and though it seemed like a niggle, the Tigers might not want to risk one of their senior players. They might try out 19-year-old Shoriful Islam who will be a like-for-like replacement.

Possible XI: Tamim Iqbal (C), Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (W), Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Afif Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman/Shoriful Islam

Sri Lanka:

Lakshan Sandakan and Isuru Udana did not quite live up to the expectations with the ball, and maybe Sri Lanka might look for a change in this department.

Possible XI: Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Perera (C/W), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Ashen Bandara/Niroshan Dickwella, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Isuru Udana/ Ramesh Mendis, Lakshan Sandakan/Akila Dananjaya, Dushmantha Chameera