Sony adds more content to cricket portfolio with India-Ireland series rights

Sony adds more content to cricket portfolio with India-Ireland series rights - InsideSport

Sony Pictures Network India has also added the India-Ireland series media rights to its extremely rich portfolio of cricket content.

Sony Sports Cluster and Sony LIV will be the destination for the majority of Indian sports lovers over the next few months. Even as the FIFA World Cup 2018 moves towards its climax match by match, Sony Sports Clusters is all set to share its channel space for some exciting cricket action with Indian cricket team’s twin tours of Ireland and England starting later this month.

Sony, before Team India starts its two and a half month England sojourn early next month, will also broadcast two T20 games between hosts Ireland and India on June 27 and 29. The games at The Village ground in Dublin will start at 8.30 pm. Skipper Virat Kohli, having emerged from the injury sustained during the Indian Premier League, is fit and ready to lead India in Ireland and England. The injury had forced Kohli to miss is planned County stint to build up for the series in England.

India will play 5 Tests, 3 ODIs, and 3 T20Is from July 3 to September 11 on its ten-week tour of England.

Sony had already acquired over 300 days of live cricketing content between July 2018 and August 2019 from media rights deals with eight cricket boards. This includes India’s four overseas tours with two major series in England and Australia.

India’s tour of Australia will include 4 Tests, 3 ODIs, and 3 T20Is between 21 November and 18 January next year.

The cricket carnival on Sony will continue till the West Indies-India series in July-August 2019.

The cricket matches will be aired across the Sony Sports Cluster channels Sony Ten 1, Sony Ten 2, and Sony Ten 3 and Sony Six. The live coverage will be available with English and Hindi feeds.

The sports cluster of Sony Pictures Networks comprises 11 channels. Sony has rights to broadcast international cricket series from South Africa, West Indies, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe. It also acquired Australia and England cricket rights in the last seven months.