Australian Open 2021 Finals: Novak Djokovic puts up super show, wins his record 9th Australian Open title

Novak Djokovic wins australian open
Novak Djokovic reacts after winning australian open 2021

Australian Open 2021 – Novak Djokovic wins 9th Australian Open Title: World No. 1 Novak Djokovic has succesfully defended his Australian Open title, his 9th overall. In the finals played on Sunday, the Serb defeated Danill Medvedev in straight sets 7-5, 6-2, 6-2. This is Djokovic 18th Grand Slam title of the career.


Roger Federer (SUI) 20
Rafael Nadal (ESP) 20
Novak Djokovic (SRB) 18
Pete Sampras (USA) 14

18th Grand Slam Title for Novak Djokovic: This is the 18th Grand Slam win for the Serbian player. The Serbian Djokovic came out all guns blazing and it seemed as if he did not want to waste time in winning his 18th Grand Slam, but Medvedev eventually came back and the set was tied at 5-5. However, in the end, Djokovic showed his class to win the first set 7-5 in about 42 minutes.

The 33-year-old Djokovic made light work of Medvedev in the second set and the Serbian won the second set with ease and as a result, he was just one more set away from winning his ninth Australian Open title.

Djokovic had no trouble in winning the third set as well and with this, the Serbian ended up winning the match in straight sets.

Earlier, Djokovic had defeated Aslan Karatsev in the semi-finals while Medvedev had outclassed Stefanos Tsitsipas in the semi-finals.


Novak Djokovic 18 Grand Slam Titles

2020 Australian Open Novak Djokovic Dominic Thiem 6-4, 4-6, 2-6, 6-3, 6-4
2019 Wimbledon Novak Djokovic Roger Federer 7-6(5), 1-6, 7-6(4), 4-6, 13-12
2019 Australian Open Novak Djokovic Rafael Nadal 6-3, 6-2, 6-3
2018 US Open Novak Djokovic Juan Martin Del Potro 6-3, 7-6(4), 6-3
2018 Wimbledon Novak Djokovic Kevin Anderson 6-2, 6-2, 7-6(3)
2016 French Open Novak Djokovic Andy Murray 3-6, 6-1, 6-2, 6-4
2016 Australian Open Novak Djokovic Andy Murray 6-1, 7-5, 7-6(3)
2015 US Open Novak Djokovic Roger Federer 6-4, 5-7, 6-4, 6-4
2015 Wimbledon Novak Djokovic Roger Federer 7-6(1), 6-7(10), 6-4, 6-3
2015 Australian Open Novak Djokovic Andy Murray 7-6(5), 6-7(4), 6-3, 6-0
2014 Wimbledon Novak Djokovic Roger Federer 6-7(7), 6-4, 7-6(4), 5-7, 6-4
2013 Australian Open Novak Djokovic Andy Murray 6-7, 7-6, 6-3, 6-2
2012 Australian Open Novak Djokovic Rafael Nadal 5-7, 6-4, 6-2, 6-7, 7-5
2011 US Open Novak Djokovic Rafael Nadal 6-2, 6-4, 6-7, 6-1
2011 Wimbledon Novak Djokovic Rafael Nadal 6-4, 6-1, 1-6, 6-3
2011 Australian Open Novak Djokovic Andy Murray 6-4, 6-2, 6-3
2008 Australian Open Novak Djokovic Jo-Wilfried Tsonga 4-6, 6-4, 6-3, 7-6(2)
On Saturday, Japan’s Naomi Osaka had won her second Australian Open title after she defeated America’s Jennifer Brady in the finals.
Osaka outclassed Brady 6-4, 6-3 in the finals that was played at the Rod Laver Arena.
With this win, Osaka registered her fourth Grand Slam title and she also improved her ranking to the second spot.


For more sports news and updates from the Australian Open 2021, follow us at