SRH name Williamson to replace Warner as skipper

Sunrisers Hyderabad names Ken Williamson as captain, replacing David Warner after ball tampering scandal and has also named Bhuvneshwar Kumar as vice president of the 2018 IPL Squad - InsideSport

SunRisers Hyderabad have appointed New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson as the team captain for the Indian Premier League 2018. Indian pace spearhead Bhuvneshwar Kumar will be his deputy for the IPL Season 11.

K. Shanmugam, CEO, SunRisers Hyderabad said “We are happy to announce Kane Williamson as the captain and Bhuvneshwar Kumar as the vice-captain of SunRisers Hyderabad for IPL 2018.”

Kane Williamson has been with SunRisers Hyderabad since 2015. He is often recognised as one of the best batsmen in contemporary international cricket and his captaincy for his national side has been appreciated by many.

Williamson said in acceptance of the captaincy, “I’ve accepted the role to stand in as captain for this season. It’s an exciting opportunity with the talented group of players. I look forward to the challenges ahead.”

Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been representing SRH since 2014 and was the purple cap holder for bagging the maximum number of wickets in 2016. He was instrumental in helping SunRisers lift the IPL trophy. In 2017, he has repeated the feat by bagging the purple cap yet again.

SunRisers Hyderabad had originally named Australian veteran David Warner to lead the team. The change was necessitated after Australia and the SRH batsman has been handed a one-year ban in the wake of the ball-tampering controversy in the Cape Town Test against South Africa.

Warner, who was retained by SunRisers Hyderabad in a ₹12.5 deal, since has been barred from playing in the IPL during the term of his suspension by Cricket Australia.