Syed Mushtaq Ali T20: 7 IPL players in UP squad, Sunrisers Priyam Garg to lead senior pros Suresh Raina & Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Syed Mushtaq Ali T20: 7 IPL players in UP squad: This year’s Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament is being seen as Mini-IPL before IPL 2021 and rightly so. Most of the Indian IPL players will be seen in action and Uttar Pradesh’s team for the tournament is proof of that. 7 IPL players has been included in the U.P team.

20 year old Priyam Garg who played for Sunrisers Hyderabad will lead the team in tournament beginning from Jan10th. Other than Garg, Suresh Raina (CSK), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH), Karn Sharma (CSK), Ankit Rajpoot (RR), Shivam Mavi (KKR), Rinku Singh (KKR) will be other IPL players in the team.

Priyam Garg to lead senior pros Suresh Raina and Bhuvneshwar Kumar
20-year-old SRH batsman has been handed the responsibility of leading Uttar Pradesh in the tournament. Garg, who led India to the U-19 World Cup final in 2020 in South Africa, will lead senior players, including former India batsman Suresh Raina and fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar who returns to competitive action after suffering an injury at Indian Premier League.

It’s a huge responsibility for Priyam Garg as competitive cricket in India resumes with the T20 tournament. Garg was 5-years-old when Raina made his India debut but the young batsman has got a fine opportunity to prove his credentials as a future India star.
In IPL 2020, Garg showcased his credentials by playing a key role in the middle-order for David Warner-led Sunrisers Hyderabad. SRH out-bid Kings XI Punjab to buy Garg for Rs 1.9 crore. Garg scored 133 runs in 14 matches and was also rated highly for his fielding skills at SRH.

UP will begin their campaign on January 10. They take on Punjab in an Elite Group A tie in Alur, Karnataka in their tournament opener.

UP Squad for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021: Priyam Garg (captain), Karn Sharma (vice-captain), Suresh Raina, Rinku Singh, Madhav Kaushik, Samarth Singh, Shubham Choubey, Dhruv Jurel (wicketkeeper), Aryan Juyal (wicketkeeper), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ankit Rajpoot, Mohsin Khan, Shivam Mavi, Shiva Singh, Shanu Saini.