Ten teams, INR 3.6 crore prize purse for PSL Season II

The Poker Sports League Season II is all set for a much bigger return –with a 104% rise in the prize purse.

The second season of the league, after in impactful “trial run” in its season of launch last year, will have 10 teams vying for the title and stake in the INR 3.6 crore prize money.

Dabur Group vice chairman Amit Burman, poker portal Adda52.com founder Anuj Gupta and Indian Poker Legend founder Pranav-Bagai jointly own the Poker Sports League. Burman has invested in the league in his personal capacity.

The league has reportedly signed eight year contracts with all the 10 franchisees with a total commitment to spend INR 150 crores.

“The first season was only a trailer of what is set to become India’s first and credible and fully carved out poker league. We received a sizeable response from both aspiring players and corporates last season,” Burman has told Economic Times. “All the team owners have decided to continue their association and we have signed 10 franchises for the next 8 years.”

PSL will also hold auctions for two new franchises, which according to Burman, will help establish valuation for the franchisees.

“In the first year, franchisees had paid Rs 35 lakh as fee. We have increased the franchise fee to Rs 57.5 lakh this season and it will increase year-on-year basis. By the fifth year, they will pay over Rs 1 crore each,” Burman is quoted as saying.

The inaugural season was won by Rishi Kajaria-owned Delhi Panthers. Players from 11 countries have participated in the PSL Season One.

Official beverage partner Bira 91, fashion partner John Jacobs, travel partner Jet Airways and health partners Real Activ juices have been the sponsors for the league.