UEFA bans AC Milan from European competition, club goes in appeal

AC Milan banned by UEFA - InsideSport

UEFA has banned AC Milan from European competition for one year for overspending on player transfers and wages. AC Milan will be excluded from next season’s Europa League unless an appeal to the Court of Arbitration for Sports (CAS) is successful.

UEFA had accused the club spent £200million ($261.5 million) on transfers last summer after a takeover in breach of rules on requirements for clubs to break even.

The matter was referred to the Adjudicatory Chamber of the Club Financial Control Body of Uefa. The Adjudicatory Chamber of the Club Financial Control Body (CFCB), chaired by José Narciso da Cunha Rodrigues, in its decision has stated that the club is excluded from participating in the next UEFA club competition for which it would otherwise qualify in the next two (2) seasons. This included one competition in 2018-19 or 2019-20, subject to the club’s qualification.

AC Milan had the option to appeal the decision to the Court of Arbitration for Sport, in accordance with Article 34(2) of the Procedural rules governing the UEFA Club Financial Control Body, as well as Articles 62 and 63 of the UEFA Statutes.

AC Milan has decided to exercise its right to go into an appeal against the CFCB verdict. The Milan-based Serie A club will fight their ban from next season’s Europa League competition.

“AC Milan has instructed its legal team to appeal the decision before the Court of Arbitration for Sport in Lausanne, seeking for a prompt review of the ruling,” AC Milan has stated in a statement.

AC Milan for their sixth-place finish in Serie A last season have earned a berth in the Europa League for next season. If the Court of Arbitration in Sports upholds the ban and turns down the AC Milan appeal, the club will lose the right to play in the Europa League.

The club’s appeal, in one of the toughest sentences handed down for breaching financial fair play regulations, said the breach has occurred “in the three-year period between July 2014 and June 2017”.