West Indies vs Sri Lanka T20: Punjab King’s Chris Gayle and Fidel Edwards named in West Indies T20 squad

West Indies vs Sri Lanka T20: Punjab King’s Chris Gayle and Fidel Edwards named in West Indies T20 squad

West Indies vs Sri Lanka T20 – Chris Gayle named in West Indies team: Punjab King’s and Global T20 legend Chris Gayle is back in the West Indies squad. Gayle along with old fast bowling warhorse Fidel Edwards has been named in the West Indies squad that will take on Sri Lanka in 3 match T20 home series.

Gayle back in West Indies squad after 2 years: Gayle will be making a comeback to his national side after a gap of 2 years. He last featured for his country back in 2019 T20I cricket world cup that happened in India. Gayle has shown no signs of aging and has just gone about doing his business in the way he best knows- thrashing everything that comes his way. He has been alarming the West Indies board with his T20 performances in the franchises’ cricket all across the globe. Gayle will be making to the squad with some runs and form under him after a successful T10 season with the bat. Also, in the couple of matches he played in this year’s PSL, he managed to dent the bowlers and vindicated on his power-hitting prowess.

Whereas on the other hand, the veteran fast bowler, Fidel Edwards will be seen playing at the international arena after 9 long years. It was back in the year 2012, that the potent and ferocious fast bowler featured in a T20I game for West Indies, and too was against Sri Lanka only. The resurgence of the fast bowler can be accredited to his stellar performances at the domestic level after years grind and also his notable performances at the Abu Dhabi T10 league of 2021. His one over that he bowled to Nicholas Pooran in the T10 League still runs fresh in our veins. He has gone against the numbers and proved that his lethal pace has only improved with age.

“As we build towards the defence of the T20 World Cup, the opportunity is being taken to determine our best team and squad as we go forward, Roger Harper, Cricket West Indies’ (CWI) lead selector, said. “Chris Gayle has performed very well in recent tournaments and the selection panel thinks that he can still add great value to our team. Fidel Edwards has been selected to give the bowling the potent firepower needed.”

Other notable appearances to the 14 man squad are the names of young off-spinner Kevin Sinclair who will be making his debut for West Indies and left-arm spinner Akeal Hosein gets his first T20I call-up. Kieron Pollard as expected will take command for his team. This squad is as formidable as it looks on paper with the likes of Andre Fletcher, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Bravo, Evin Lewis, and Nicholas Pooran- all of them have been in searing hot form currently.

When was the last time these two teams met each other?

It was the West Indies team who was touring Sri Lanka last time in March 2020, when these two teams went head to head in a 2 match T20I series. The two times reigning T20 World Cup champions, thrashed the Lankans 2-0 in their own backyard in that series. With this time, the Lankans who will be visiting the Caribbean islands will surely be looking for retribution.

West Indies T20I Squad

Kieron Pollard (Captain), Nicholas Pooran, Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Fidel Edwards, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Rovman Powell, Lendl Simmons, Kevin Sinclair.

West Indies ODI Squad

Kieron Pollard (Captain), Shai Hope, Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Kyle Mayers, Jason Mohammed, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd, Kevin Sinclair.

Complete Sri Lanka ODI and T20I squad for West Indies series

Dimuth Karunaratne (ODI captain), Dasun Shanaka (T20I captain), Niroshan Dickwella, Thisara Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Ashen Bandara, Oshada Fernando, Kamindu Mendis, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Nuwan Pradeep, Asitha Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananajaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Dilshan Madushanka, Suranga Lakmal (in for Lahiru Kumara)


CCG – Coolidge Cricket Ground
SVRS – Sir Vivian Richards Stadium

March 3: 1st T20I at CCG – 6:00 pm Eastern Caribbean Time (ECT), 5:00 pm Jamaica Time
March 5: 2nd T20I at CCG – 6:00 pm ECT/ 5:00 pm Jamaica Time
March 7: 3rd T20I at CCG – 6:00 pm ECT/5:00 pm Jamaica Time
March 10: 1st ODI at SVRS – 9:30 am ECT/ 8:30 am Jamaica Time
March 12: 2nd ODI at SVRS – 9:30 am ECT/8:30 am Jamaica Time
March 14: 3rd ODI at SVRS – 1:30 pm ECT/12:30 pm Jamaica Time (day/night)
March 17-18: Two-day warm-up match at CCG
March 21-25: 1st Test at SVRS – 10:00 am ECT/9:00 am Jamaica Time
March 29 to April 2: 2nd Test at SVRS – 10:00 am ECT/9:00 am Jamaica Time