World Cup Qualifiers: Fernando Santos names 25-man squad, Euro 2016 champion Joao Mario earns recall

World Cup Qualifiers: Fernando Santos names 25-man squad, Euro 2016 champion Joao Mario earns recall: Portugal’s Euro 2016 winner Joao Mario was included by coach Fernando Santos on Thursday in the squad for next month’s fixtures which include two World Cup qualifiers.

The Benfica midfielder, 28, won the last of his 45 caps in October 2019 alongside Leicester left-back Ricardo Pereira, who played his most recent international in November of the same year.

Lille midfielder Renato Sanches and Atletico Madrid attacker Joao Felix miss out with injuries.

Portugal will face Ireland on 2nd September and Azerbaijan on 7th September.

ALSO READ: FIFA World Cup Qualifiers: Belgium names a young 31-man squad after Euro disappointment

Cristiano Ronaldo, stuck on 99 goals, doubtful for UEFA Nations League match | Sports News,The Indian Express

Juventus’ Cristiano Ronaldo, who can break Ali Daei’s international scoring record of 109 with one goal, is also named by Santos for Portugal qualifiers against Ireland on September 1 and Azerbaijan on September 7 played either side of a friendly with 2022 World Cup hosts’ Qatar on September 4.

World Cup Qualifiers: Portugal squad

Goalkeepers: Rui Patricio (Wolverhampton/ENG), Anthony Lopes (Lyon/FRA), Diogo Costa (Porto)

Defenders: Joao Cancelo (Manchester City/ENG), Ricardo Pereira (Leicester City/ENG), Goncalo Inacio (Sporting Lisbon), Ruben Dias (Manchester City/ENG), Pepe (Porto), Nuno Mendes (Sporting Lisbon), Domingos Duarte (Granada/ESP) Raphael Guerreiro (Borussia Dortmund/GER)

Midfielders: Danilo Pereira (Paris Saint-Germain/FRA), Joao Palhinha (Sporting Lisbon), Ruben Neves (Wolves/ENG), Joao Moutinho (Wolves/ENG), Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United/ENG), Otavio (Porto), Joao Mario (Benfica)

ALSO READ: Ronaldo transfer news: Transfer to Manchester City ‘almost done,’ confirms Portuguese journalist, follow live updates

Forwards: Bernardo Silva (Manchester City/ENG) Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus/ITA), Diogo Jota (Liverpool/ENG), Rafa Silva (Benfica), Andra Silva (RB Leipzig/GER), Pedro Goncalves (Sporting Lisbon)